Man Cave Forums - Discussing The Perfect Man Cave banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Badministrator
42,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whole house generator. Talk to me.

I'm in the market for something in the 10kW on the low to 16kW on the high end. I can get a Generac 10kW at Costco for 2 dimes, which includes the xfer switch.

Don't know much about the Kohler's but I read good things about them.
Natural Gas will be the fuel.

So, who's got a whole house generator, and what / why did you go with what you have?

·
Registered
7,437 Posts
Kohler IMO. I have limited experience with them as far as Generators go but from my experience with Dixie Choppers the Kohler Command will outperform and be far more reliable than an equivalent power Generac. Kohler's are also much easier on the pocket book when it comes to maintenance. My main Dixie Chopper w/ 27hp Kohler has 13,000 hours on it and has needed nothing more than the occasional spark plug and oil change.

·
Badministrator
42,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thing I'm having a hard time finding out is who builds the engines for Kohler, or if in fact they build their own engines. Same with Kohler. Or do they OEM Deere, Kawasaki, Onan, etc. ?

·
Registered
9,401 Posts
I work for a company that sells Generac but we work on everything. There isn't a whole lot of difference in the new Kohlers and the new Generacs. Not meaning that the Generacs have gotten much better since i started with the company 5 years ago but that Kohler has come down.

Its all going to come down to the service department of your supplier.

For your house you are going to need a larger unit. Probably at least 30Kw if I had to guess. But more than likely higher.

Remember always buy more generator than you need. The common mistake is to get one just big enough to cover it.

·
Badministrator
42,726 Posts
Discussion Starter #5