The Perfect Man Cave banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so I'm new to Humidors, not new to cigars just never had a humidor of my own. I have been seasoning my new humidor for about 6 days now, I calibrated the hygrometer prior with a boveda pack and now seasoning with a sponge. it is reading 82% how long should I leave it?

·
Thread Killer
22,060 Posts
I bet you’re ok now, a week should be good enough. Use more of the Boveda bags than necessary, they will last longer. They are also rechargeable. I use 65%, 69% is also popular. The Boveda instructions will tell you how many you need, double it. Also, get a good electronic hygrometer, the ones in the humidor are not that accurate, although if you calibrate them they are close.

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
sweet dixie, thanks, ya I happen to have a 72% boveda pack and after calibrating my hygrometer it says
exactly 72% for over 24 hours now I realize thats probably a little high but just basing the analog gauge seems to be pretty close.

·
Registered
14,816 Posts
65% Boveda FTW! I don't use anything different. I'm also a cheap ass and reload my Boveda's in a meal prep container creating a greenhouse effect to reload them.

Check the seal on your humidor. Make sure it makes a swooshing sound when you close it. Bad seal = leaky humidor. One of my humidors kinda sucks. Probably my most expensive one too, but I got it as a gift from my brother. Always have a difficult time keeping it regulated.

T

·
Thread Killer
22,060 Posts
72% won't hurt them, but I'd get a half dozen at either 65% like T and I favor, or 69% for the long haul.

·
Thread Killer
22,060 Posts
Actually, you can calibrate that thing with a Boveda bag. It has a screw adjustment on the back of it.

Remove the hygrometer and put it in a heavy duty double ziplock freezer bag with a fresh Boveda bag, leave on counter for 24 hours.