Man Cave Forums - Discussing The Perfect Man Cave banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to this site but have been looking around alot and seem to like what I see. This is my first time posting so please help if you can.

I am going to be making a backboard for my dartboard. I was thinking about using a 3' 8" by 3' 8" sheet of plywood and covering it in 1/2" thick cork. The dartboard will then be hung on the backboard which will be attached to the wood studs in the wall. The studs are 2' apart. Are the studs going to hold all this weight? Im trying to spend as little money on this as possible. Is there a cheaper type of wood I could use instead of plywood to mount everything to? I could use a third stud if I have to by making the board bigger so it can reach it.

·
Registered
171 Posts
Will the studs hold up a sheet of ply with cork on top? Yeah, no problem. They hold up kitchen cabinets.

·
Registered
2,784 Posts
Since the ply is going to be overlayed by corkboard make sure to only get 1/2" pine ply to cut costs. It's not going to be seen anyway.

Maybe even get some exterior grade stuff if there's a piece that's straight enough.

Pictures will be a must once completed and welcome to the community.

·
Badministrator
42,726 Posts
The other thing to consider, however I don't know if it would be cheaper would be a piece of foam. I've seen it used before, but don't know what type of foam they use. it's usually about 1" thick, and not "spongy" but allows the darts to stick in it.

Might be worth checking out, otherwise, a piece of cork aught do the trick.

Welcome to the forums!

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5