Man Cave Forums - Discussing The Perfect Man Cave banner

Help with bar plans...

Tags
bar
9K views 20 replies 8 participants last post by  Dennis 
#1 ·
I've never built anything with wood so I'm trying to compensate by planning this out as much as possible. I'm a 3d animator so I created a digital model of my basement and built the bar digitally.
I'm planning on building the real thing now (if the wife approves), so I'd like to know if there are any gaping holes in my plan or anything I'm missing.
Here's the video showing the structure:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8S5J64O2fv4

Any feedback is much appreciated!!

#4 ·
Love the concept! I'm from Chicago and when I saw the ivy over the brick on the bar front - thought it was a perfect visual element for a "Wrigleyville" bar!

One suggestion, lose the Landshark surfboard. Not very "Chicago-ish." Try finding something like an old Harry Carey "Bud Man, Cubs fan" banner for up there.

The basic bar design looks very buildable, just make sure everything is square and level, take your time. Since you're enclosing a freezer in there, remember to provide ventilation for the cooling coils. Maybe a vent on the front of the bar to allow for air circulation. Possibly a little computer fan as well.

Good luck. Looking forward to seeing pictures of the actual construction.

#6 ·
I love the Wrigley Field scoreboard as a bar back as well.

But there's always limited space for bartenders behind a bar. Instead of 2 large doors swinging far out into the bartender's area, it might be better to make them 2 bi-fold doors.

Or you could eliminate the doors altogether and put the scoreboard behind clear glass shelving with your bottles in front of it.

Oh, since you already have the "heavy ass freezer," have you seen the kegerator conversions in these forums for freezers?

#7 ·
Welcome! Wow! That's a helluva first post, I think you just set the standard!